Take a minute to say ‘Thank You’

Have you noticed how busy life is in this day and age? You barely even get a chance to stop and think. And when you do, the thoughts are generally about how busy you are, or what you have yet to get done. I would like you to think about your own day. How many times do you stop and say ‘thank you’? Not just saying a quick empty thanks to the shop assistant or the delivery guy. But genuinely say ‘thank you’.

Think about it, how much in your life do you have to be thankful for? Stop. Breathe. Did the oxygen enter your lungs and go through your body in your bloodstream? Yes? Then you have every reason to be thankful! You’re ALIVE! You don’t even need to think about breathing, you were created perfectly. Celebrate that!

Besides being alive, there are so many things that you can be grateful. I took a minute to think about just a few things that I am grateful for. Here’s a short list:

  • Family
  • Friends
  • Food
  • Support structure
  • My pups
  • My beautiful country
  • My church
  • Job
  • Health
  • Skin
  • Electricity
  • Creativity
  • Normal functioning body
  • Air
  • Clothes
  • Music
  • Education
  • My boyfriend
  • Finances
  • A home
  • Taste-buds
  • Water
  • Cars
  • Toilets
  • Books
  • Bees
  • Salvation

As I said, just a few…

At the end of that list, you will have seen I wrote ‘Salvation’. This should be at the very top of things that I am grateful for. I have been saved by Grace! The great thing is that there is nothing anyone can do to deserve this incredible gift. It’s a gift. Freely given. That blows my mind. God, the all powerful creator of the universe, became man. Man. A man with an expiration date, like all men and women. Lived among the filth of sin (but was without sin). He chose to give up his rightful place at the throne in heaven to be a man. And suffer as a man would, and die a most excruciating death. And He did it all so that we can stand blameless before God. Not because of anything that we have done, or can do, but only by the gift of His Grace! Wow! Now that is the BEST reason to be grateful!

Well, that’s just something I’ve been thinking about over the last few weeks. I hope it encouraged or challenged you.

Until next time xx

Leave a Reply

